Thoughts on leaving London in two weeks…

I’m on my lunch break at work, and with nothing better to do (besides be on facebook…..), I decided to make lists containing the top 10 things I will miss about London, Europe, and study abroad in general and the top 10 things I am most excited to return to in the USA.  (#1 being the most missed and most exciting.)  To whoever reads this, if you think I missed something crucial in either list, let me know and I will certainly add it.

First things first.  What I’ll miss most about my semester abroad:

1. All of the wonderful people I’ve met, both British and American.  Between the CAPA program, Christ Church, and traveling, I have met amazing people that I will miss very much.  For you Americans, I see a roadtrip in my future, so get ready.  Good thing I love long car rides.

2. British accents.  This may seem a bit ridiculous, but I have really become attached to the soothing voice of a British speaker.  Shout out to Fab 5: let’s talk in British accents like we did in SB ’08 (plus Catp5 and Lees) at least for a while so I can slowly integrate myself back into America.  Ok thanks.

3. Taking the tube and walking everywhere.  When I first got to London, I was annoyed by the amount of time it takes to get places when you use public transportation.  Now I’m not sure if I want to drive again.  I’m planning on riding the DART in Dallas as much as possible and walking wherever possible.  I might even walk to Walmart back in CoMo.

4. Living in Flat K with my amazing flatmates.  London would NOT have been the same without you.  Mark many reunions/sleepovers back at Mizzou down on your calendars.

5. Notting Hill/Portobello Road, Borough Market, and Brick Lane.  Sorry I had to lump these together, but I want this list to stay at 10 and there are too many things to miss.  Portobello, you know how much I love you, your crepes, your fresh fruit, your shops, your Hummingbird Bakery, your antiques, etc.  I actually feel like we have become good friends, and I will miss you dearly.  Borough, I’ve never had such amazing food in my life.  Never change.  And Brick Lane, my love for ethnic/Indian food/lamb/vintage clothing/artsy people makes you a keeper.  All I can say is I’ll be back.

6. Traveling.  I have never been to so many countries in this amount of time, and it makes me wish I had more time to see more of Europe.  During my semester, I went to Edinburgh and St. Andrews in Scotland; Paris; Barcelona, Granada, and Madrid in Spain; Amsterdam; and Florence.  Some of the best experiences of my life with some great people.  Don’t worry, other neglected European countries, I’ll be back before you know it.

7. Hyde Park and all of London’s royal parks, but especially Hyde Park.  I will miss running on a sunny Saturday afternoon, relaxing in the grass with friends, and even almost being hit numerous times by Hyde Park’s dangerous bikers (they’ll get ya).  This park holds a special place in my heart.  The next time I’m running in Dallas or Columbia, I’ll just close my eyes, feel the sun on my face, and pretend I’m watching paddle-boaters on the lake and British men playing football.

8. Sports Cafe, Oneill’s, and the rest of London nightlife.  To anyone who’s ever experienced the craziness of Tuesday nights at Sports Cafe, the live music on Thursday nights at Oneill’s, the hipster places in East London such as Koko, Fabric, Cargo, and even Mother Club, the overpriced ripoff that are all destinations in Piccadilly, and any of London’s great pubs, you know how much you’ll miss them.  There is really nothing quite like these experiences, especially when shared with good friends.  My Tuesday nights back at school will need some serious help.

9. Musicals.  As you all know, I am a music lover and musical theater nerd.  I have been spoiled during my time here by easy access to the world’s greatest musicals of all time.  Throughout the past few months, I have seen Phantom of the Opera, Jersey Boys, and Les Miserables, all of which were phenomenal.  Guess I’ll just have to stick to singing the music when I get back…I’m sure you all won’t mind 🙂

10. Last but not least, nutella.  Yes, I’ve developed a consistent and incurable addiction.  Not that they don’t sell it in America, but it is just way more prevalent here.  This is one thing from this list that I will definitely carry on in the U.S., for better or for worse.

Now for the things to look forward to back in America:

1. Friends and family.  Dallas friends and Mizzou friends, I’ve missed you so much and cannot wait to shower you with love and stories because skype just doesn’t do it.  Family and Grandma Lo, I love you and can’t wait to see you.

2. D-town.  Even though I’ve fallen in love with London, I can’t betray my city.  I will love Dallas forever.  And although I plan on walking more, you know I can’t wait to be behind the wheel of my Passat again.

3. The Cottage and Anthony Street.  I’ve missed our cozy cottage and can’t wait to reunite on May 5th.  Also, getting so excited for Anthony Street in the fall!  Yesss East Campus!  Great things are sure to happen with roommates as well as my hundreds (maybe not hundreds) of friends also living on Anthony.

4. Tex-mex.  Can’t deny it.  I love Tex-mex.  Admittedly, London does have a Cantina Laredo, Chipotle, and the Texas Embassy, but that’s about it when it comes to good Mexican food.  La Duni, Blue Mesa, Ojeda’s, Mi Cocina, Cuba Libre, Mattito’s, Luna de Noche, and many others – here I come!  Chips and salsa.  Blue margaritas.  Love.

5. Football season at Mizzou.  If we have another game like the one against Oklahoma last semester, I’ll be a happy girl.  Tiger football is one of my favorite things about college, and I can’t wait.  This will be the last football season of my college career sadly, so I’m going to enjoy it to the fullest.  M-I-Z!

6. Northpark mall.  I have to say the shopping in London is better between Harrod’s Selfridges, Oxford Street, and markets, but I do love my Northpark for so many reasons.  Can’t wait for sister-bonding outings to Nordstrom and Anthropologie.

7. Biking around White Rock Lake.  One of my favorite things to do during the summer, and since I will miss Hyde Park so much, I will be making frequent trips to the lake (Sally Wyatt).

8. Pi Phi, especially my lovely seniors, whom I’ll miss so much after graduation.  Excited to see the 511 and everyone in it!

9. House summer marathons on USA.  I have made it an entire semester without watching a single episode of House, my favorite show.  Countless Friends reruns in London have compensated, but it’s time for some Hugh Laurie again.

10. My bed.  Although I can pretty much fall asleep anywhere (even standing up on the tube) I do miss the comfort of my bed.  Bunkbeds that you can’t sit up in with springs you can feel through the mattress aren’t exactly luxurious, but I wouldn’t trade four months of sleeping in one such bed for the world.

There you have it.  I know I still have two weeks left, but I decided it was a good idea to get this down.  Do not worry, I’ll still keep blogging to the end!

Peace

About Christiana Nielson

My name is Christiana Nielson, and I am a junior at the University of Missouri, majoring in Magazine Journalism and International Studies. I love to travel and hope eventually to visit as many countries as possible. I also love writing and want to edit a magazine in the future. I tutor French and love the language. I love trying new things, and I'm especially partial to good food. I'm from Dallas, Texas, and love spending time with my family and friends. I have played the piano and sung in choir and just for fun practically my whole life - I am definitely a music lover. Running, golf, and skiing are also among my hobbies. I'm involved in Magazine Club and other organizations on campus. Most of all, I am very excited to see what will happen in the next few years and as I graduate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment